Knowledge base from Kringlecon 2018

Cyber Sherlock
3 min readFeb 9, 2019

--

The recent SANS holiday hack challenge, aka Kringlecon 2018, was one of the best challenges I’ve ever attended. Personally, I learned a lot and refreshed some basics.

Author on the completion of the Kringlecon Challenge!

I liked the theme of a virtual conference with talks on various cybersecurity topics and the way the objectives' complexity increased. With a lot of effort and help from many of my cybersecurity mates, I could reach and complete the final challenge. I must agree that there is absolutely no rocket science behind this, and all that one needs is a passion for cybersecurity and a desire to learn new things!

While many blog posts very well document how the objectives were accomplished, I would like to cover the hints, which are pretty good and should be bookmarked for future reference!

The hints here are presented along with the characters from the kringlecon.

More videos from kringlecon2018 at https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNiR-C_VXv_TCFgww5Vczag/videos

Finally, if you haven’t tasted the sweetness of the SANS holiday hack challenge, I highly recommend you take it up next time. This challenge covers objectives from all aspects of cybersecurity, such as Networking basics, Application Security, Digital Forensics, and Incident Response, and Malware Reverse Engineering!

I hope you like this post, and I am equally excited for the next series of SANS holiday hack challenges 🙂

Originally published at http://cybersherlock.blog on February 9, 2019.

--

--